Feeder Calf Marketing

If you have surfed this website, you now realize that the primary reason for the existence of Powerline Beef Genetics is to produce bulls that sire profitable feeder cattle.

Clearly, it would be an incomplete offering if Powerline marketed bulls and then did nothing to help funnel the resulting progeny to feedyards that appreciate their value and will bid competitively to own them. This was recognized in the early days of Power Genetics and systems have existed since that time to ensure that the progeny of Power Genetics bulls (now Powerline bulls) are presented to competitive buyers.

Power Genetics (PG) and ABS had the good fortune to connect with Jim Barta, a rancher, cattle feeder, entrepreneur and proprietor of Big Blue Sale Barn (BBSB). Big Blue is an internet-based video cattle market with a singular focus of offering the very best feeder cattle to meet the needs of feeders who demand the very best. Sales are held approximately every two weeks, which creates a manageable number of cattle whereby consignors don’t feel that their cattle get “lost” amongst a couple hundred thousand offered in other video sales.

The vast majority of cattle offered on BBSB are Age and Source Verified (ASV). They are listed by producers with documented health programs and genetic profiles. There simply are not enough Powerline bulls to sire all the cattle offered on Big Blue, but Big Blue Marketing Agents are nevertheless discriminating on the cattle they offer. PowerLine-sired calves generally spark intense competition among the regular bidders on Big Blue.

Powerline bull customers are not restricted in any way from marketing their calves through any channel they prefer, but many of the feeder cattle buyers on Big Blue have fed PowerLine-sired feeder cattle for many years and appreciate what the right combination of Angus and Simmental genetics can do for feedlot performance and carcass merit. Thus, they tend to be aggressive bidders.

To learn more about Big Blue Sale Barn, click on this link www.bigbluesalebarn.com.

To discuss your cattle marketing options with a Big Blue Marketing Agent, contact the agent nearest you from the list below:

ABS Marketing Agents

Beau Botts
Eastern Oregon
541-263-0988

Travis Chrisman
Nebraska, Colorado
tchrisman@chrismancattleservices.com
308-883-6781

Joe Jones
Idaho, Utah, Nevada
joe.jones@genusplc.com
208-670-2364

Mark Haruf
Colorado
mharuf@hotmail.com
970-630-4383

Deryl Riley
Nebraska
derylriley@gmail.com
308-962-6975

Mike Jorgensen
Colorado
719-850-0880

Larry Rowden
Nebraska, Colorado
larry.rowden@genusplc.com
308-870-0121

Dennis Snavely
Missouri
denniss@sutherfeeds.com
417-861-5641

Roger Wann
Texas, Oklahoma
roger.wann@genusplc.com
940-727-8492

Merlyn Sandbulte
Iowa, South Dakota,
North Dakota, Montana
merlyn.sandbulte@genusplc.com
712-470-4237

Robbie Weathers
Kentucky
rweathers@bellsouth.net
270-878-0180

Mark Tracy, DVM
Nebraska
doctracy@msn.com
308-962-6445

Power Genetics Marketing Agents

Jason Anderson
Nebraska
jasona@powergenetics.com
800-283-2806

Pat Riley
New Mexico
pbriley@plateautel.net
575-207-7657

Jack Grady
Nebraska, Texas
ctlbyr@hotmail.com
308-340-1264

Jeff Berry
Nebraska, Colorado, Wyoming
jeffberry@gmail.com
307-421-3031

Wayne Heskett
Kansas
heskettw@wamego.net
785-456-4100

Ken Liska
Nebraska
jkliska@huntel.net
402-375-0446

Troy Rasmussen
Nebraska
trasmussen@powergenetics.com
308-236-3308

Lynn George
Wyoming, Montana
lynngeorge@tctwest.net
307-899-9389

Shelby Robert
Louisiana
sbrobert@eatel.net
225-324-0977

Jeff Sleichter
Kansas
785-562-8171

Ron Eliason
Idaho, Utah, Nevada
eliasoncowboy@aol.com
208-604-3332

Wade Stephens
Wyoming
wstephens@bvea.net
307-780-7649

Mike Tolstedt
Nebraska, Wyoming
box11@q.com
308-760-5946

Richard Wilson
Nebraska
dpwilson@nctc.net
308-440-8809

Ron Wilson
Wyoming, California
rkwilson@bresnan.net
307-349-4350

Jeremy Cox
Tennessee
731-227-9275

Chad Draper
NW Kansas
785-672-0435

Benton Cain
New Mexico
bc@plateautel.net
575-403-8694

Clyde & Darlene Magnuson
Utah, Idaho
magnuson@etv.net
435-749-1034